Marvel Removes Bridgerton Star From Secret Invasion Cast List

Marvel Removes Bridgerton Star From Secret Invasion Cast List

Published July 25, 2022
Views 8

Marvel clarifies that Bridgerton star Regé-Jean Page is not in Secret Invasion. Based on Brian Michael Bendis and Leinil Francis Yu’s comic book arc of the same name, Secret Invasion is the first and perhaps biggest entry in Marvel’s Phase 5 streaming slate. In the story, Skrulls infiltrate all aspects of life on Earth and replace a number of key figures on the planet using their shape-shifting abilities. Former S.H.I.E.L.D. director Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) and his Skrull associate Talos (Ben Mendelsohn) are reteaming in the show after Spider-Man: Far From Home confirmed their continued partnership.

After building excitement with top-tier castings from across Hollywood, the first footage for Secret Invasion was unveiled during Marvel’s San Diego Comic-Con panel. The video revealed that the show kicks off with Nick Fury returning to Earth and meeting up with S.H.I.E.L.D. agent Maria Hill (Cobie Smulders). Soon after, he will warn Don Cheadle’s War Machine of the impending threat on the planet. The Secret Invasion trailer also included shots of new MCU stars Emilia Clarke, Kingsley Ben-Adir, and Olivia Colman, although their characters weren’t confirmed. Marvel later dispatched an email recapping the reveals from its Comic-Con panel, a portion of which suggested that Page was also a part of the thrilling miniseries. However, the studio has now offered an update on the casting details for the show.

As confirmed by Marvel Studios in a new tweet, Page will not appear in Secret Invasion. His name was included in the show’s cast list erroneously, and that mistake has since been rectified. It’s not fully clear how that error occurred, as Marvel did not elaborate much on that matter.

Marvel Studios’ “Secret Invasion” stars Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury and Ben Mendelsohn as the Skrull Talos. They are joined by Kingsley Ben-Adir, Emilia Clarke and Olivia Colman. A previous cast list incorrectly also included Regé-Jean Page.